Dr. Arnold Mitchem, COE President 1981-2013

The Dr. Arnold Mitchem Leadership and Advocacy Award recognizes a member of the NAEOP community who demonstrates a steadfast commitment to low-income and first generation students and exercises vigorous and influential leadership in the TRiO community at the state, regional, or national level. The award recognizes the long and steady tenure of Dr. Arnold Mitchem who guided the Council for Opportunity in Education for more than 30 years in Washington, DC and across the landscape of higher education.

Nominations will be solicited from the membership by the NAEOP Board at the beginning of each calendar year. Guidelines for nominations include:

1. Nominations submitted by current NAEOP members only.
2. Nominees will be required to submit a one page statement of credentials for the NAEOP Board to review. The statement will ask nominees to describe how their work meets the spirit of the Dr. Arnold Mitchem Award.

The NAEOP Board determines the recipient of the Dr. Arnold Mitchem. a recipient can only receive the award once and will be announced at the annual NAEOP conference.

Dr. Arnold Mitchem 2013
Phillip Dirks 2014
Marc Coomer 2015